Biloxi Attractions

The bright lights of Biloxi's casinos will certainly keep you occupied while in Biloxi, but make sure to get out and experience some of the city's other attractions.

Beauvoir Jefferson Davis Home Presidential Library Biloxi MississippiBeauvoir The Jefferson Davis Home and Presidential Library
The Beauvoir (French for "beautiful to look at") has a long history in Biloxi. Built in 1852 by plantation owner James Brown, the Beauvoir (2244 Beach Blvd.) wasn't given its name until its second owner, Sarah Dorsey, bought it in 1873. It was Sarah Dorsey who opened her doors to Jefferson Davis, offering him a quiet place to stay to write his books. Davis penned "The Rise and Fall of the Confederate Government" while staying at Beauvoir. Davis was in the process of buying the house from Dorsey when she died and - ironically - left him all of her posessions. Beauvoir was the last home of Jefferson Davis. (Guided Beauvoir tours are available - $9 for adults, $5 for children; Call (228) 388-4400 or visit

Ship Island
West Ship Island is one of the five barrier islands that form the Mississippi Sound. Home to Fort Massachusetts, Ship Island is 11 miles south of Gulfport and Biloxi. Ferries take visitors back and forth to visit the island, specifically the fort, March through October. (Visit for schedules and fares; 1-866-GO-MS-Fun.)

Biloxi Lighthouse
What makes the Biloxi Lighthouse stand apart is the fact that it's the only lighthouse in the world situated smack in the middle of a four-lane highway. The Biloxi Lighthouse is a solidly built structure, which was proven when it survived Hurricane Katrina. Constructed in 1848, the lighthouse is a Gulf Coast icon. (

Tour Train Biloxi MississippiBiloxi Tour Train
Touted as Biloxi's "Original Historic Tour," the Biloxi Tour Train has been a staple of this Mississippi city for more than 40 years. The "shrimp train," which is how locals refer to it, is an open-air tram that shuttles passengers on a 90-minute, narrated tour of Biloxi's historic neighborhoods. (; 866-411-8687)

Maritime and Seafood Industry Museum
Established to preserve the maritime history of Biloxi and the Gulf Coast, the Maritime and Seafood Industry Museum is popular because of its shrimping, recreational fishing and oystering exhibits, to name a few. In addition, you'll find two replications of two -- yes, two -- 65-foot double-masted Biloxi Schooners. The museum also offers a summer Sea-n-Sail Adventure Camp to teach kids about local maritime heritage. (; 228-435-6320)

Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art
The Ohr-O'Keefe Museum, which houses works by artist George Ohr, was struck by Hurricane Katrina in 2005 and its transitional location is at 1596 Glenn Swetman Street. The museum has a new building campaign underway. The Ohr-O'Keefe Museum houses the ceramics of George E. Ohr, aka the "Mad Potter of Biloxi." (; 228-374-5547)

The Historic Redding House
One of the most visited attractions in the state of Mississippi, the historic Redding House was built by Charles Redding in 1908 in Greek Revival style. The house was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984. Popular features of the house include the art murals, custom millwork and the house's 10 fireplaces. The Redding House gives a true look at Biloxi past. (770 Jackson Street; 228-436-9700)

St. Michael's Catholic Church
Also known as "The Fisherman's Church," St. Michael's Catholic Church is a unique structure in Biloxi. With a roof shaped like a clam shell, the church is cylindricle in shape and has withstood the test of two destructive hurricanes over the course of 100 years. (; 228-435-5578)

Moran's Art Gallery
Because Hurricane Katrina destroyed this gallery's Biloxi location, it is now operating out of Ocean Springs. Joe Moran, son of Biloxi's own Geo E Ohr, was an avid boat builder turned artist. Moran was known for his beautiful paintings of the Gulf Coast. His paintings are in the White House and Smithsonian. Visit Moran's Art Gallery Tuesdays through Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. (; 228-818-8290)

Search Website